The chief of the James Smith Cree Nation has been re-elected to a third term in office.

Wally Burns defeated four other challengers in the contest yesterday.

Joining him on council are incumbent councillors Gerald McKay and Robin Mootoos.

Two new councilors were also brought on board — Waylon McLeod and Gord Burns.

All of the terms are for two years.